Blog Posts

What a Ride!

Summer is nearly over, and I am so behind on writing. I’ve had a ton of editing work (which is great, of course!) but that means my daily word count has been lacking. Add in changing jobs and teaching a summer camp for 4th-7th graders, and my summer has been a wild ride.

Summer camps are over now, so I hope to get a few more words in per day now. I have to give a shout-out to all the elementary/middle school teachers out there. Y’all rock, seriously. I was exhausted every single day coming home from wrangling those kids! I was teaching them a computer software called Crazy Talk, which is actually a really cool program.

I’m also changing jobs. I’ve been teaching English at a technical college for just about ten years now, and this will be the first semester in a very long time that I haven’t taught there. Instead, I am going to be teaching five writing courses at my alma mater! It’s been my dream to work there ever since I moved to SC in 1998. I fell in love with the school the minute I stepped foot on campus. Classes start Aug. 24, and I am so very excited. It’s wonderful that I get to do the things I love (teach, edit, write) every single day.

I am planning for Maggie #4 (The Gatherer’s Power) to come out at the end of August, so be sure to look for it! It’s going to be super awesome. It takes place in an abandoned sanatorium! What could be cooler than that?