Available Now, News

Oh Editor, My Editor

CROSS-POSTED FROM MAGICAL WORDS: http://www.magicalwords.net/melissa-gilbert/oh-editor/


Today is the release of An Improbable Truth: The Paranormal Adventures of Sherlock Holmes! I have a story in there titled “The Chase” along with other amazing stories by superbly talented storytellers. I have read some of them, but I am waiting on the actual book to devour the rest. I’m hungry for them, but I want to savor them as well.

Working on this project through Mocha Memoirs Press was my first adventure with an anthology editor and someone who wanted my story. I couldn’t have asked for a better “first time” for this.

(Side note: The lovely Sharon Stogner has done some proofing for me before, but that’s a bit different.)

My editor for An Improbable Truth is A. C. Thompson, who you all may better know as Alexandra Christian. I have to say that working with an editor helped me not only to write better but also to be a better editor myself. I learned the value of the editor not only functioning to make the story better, but also the value of the editor as an ally and cheerleader for the writer. Comments like “it would be totally badass if you did ____” just made my day. It’s editorial feedback, but it’s warm and fuzzy (as much as being a badass can be) at the same time. I also laughed at some of the comments I got as well. I, evidently, do not know how cocaine works. Oops.

The process was quick, seamless, and altogether beautiful. I appreciate everyone at Mocha Memoirs Press so much.

So, please, if you are so inclined, check out An Improbable Truth: The Paranormal Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, out today!

Also, if you are in the Charlotte, NC, area, we are having a signing at 2nd and Charles in Charlotte on Nov. 7 from 1:30-4:00. We’d love to see you there!

SHA_final

“When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” Sherlock Holmes is one of the most recognizable characters in Western literature.  Conan Doyle’s inimitable detective has been the subject of literally thousands of books, movies, television shows, plays and even songs.  With the rise of the BBC series and the release of most copyrights, the beloved character has found a new life among modern audiences.   In An Improbable Truth: The Paranormal Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, 14 authors of horror and mystery have come together to create a unique anthology that sets Holmes on some of his most terrifying adventures.  A pair of sisters willing to sacrifice young girls to an ancient demon for a taste of success, a sinister device that can manipulate time itself, and a madman that can raise corpses from the dead are just a few among the grisly tales that can be found within these pages.  Curl up with a warm cuppa and leave all the lights on.  This is not your grandfather’s Sherlock Holmes.”

Available from: Amazon, Smashwords, and CreateSpace

$12.99 ~ Paperback

$4.99 ~ Kindle